Bulgaria is situated in the south – east part of Europe, in the eastern part of the Balkan Peninsula. For centuries, the roads passing through the territory of the country have been connecting Europe with Asia and Africa. Four common European transport corridors, connecting West and North Europe with the eastern and southern part of the continent cross their roads here.

Apart from its being situated on crossroads, Bulgaria is also known for its nature. In spite of its relatively small territory (110.912 km), the country has varied landscape. The scenery changes subsequently from vast plains, to hilly areas and high mountains. Large beaches and beautiful rocky shores stretch out along the Black Sea coast. The climate is moderately continental with four distinct seasons. The average annual air temperature is 10,5°C, with average January temperatures around 0°C, and the summer temperatures rarely exceeding 30°C.

General Information

Bulgaria is one of the oldest European countries with a 13 century-old tradition.


Bulgaria in Brief
Territory: 110 993,6 km2
Population 7.364.570 (2011)
Capital City: Sofia
Official Language Bulgarian
Political System: Parliamentary Republic
National Currency Bulgarian Lev (BGN)
Time Zone: UTC/GMT + 3 h (EEST)
Official holidays (2019)
1st January New Year’s Holiday
3rd March National Holiday
28th April Easter
1st May Labour Day
6th May Georgi’s Day, Bulgarian Army’s Day
24th May Cyril and Methodius Day
6th September Unification Day
22th September Independence Day
1st November National Day of the Bulgarian
Revival Leaders
24th, 25th και 26th December Christmas
Call Now Button